National Green Building Standards™

The creation of the ICC 700 National Green Building Standard™ was initiated by the National Association of Home builders (NAHB) and the International Code Council (ICC) to offer a national rating system and standard definition for green building. This building standard has received approval from the American Na­tional Standards Institute (ANSI), indicating it was developed through an open, consensus-based process with representative stakeholder participation and ample opportunity for public comment. The standard de­fines green building for single – and multifamily homes and residential remodeling, and land development.

There are four performance point levels: bronze, silver, gold, and emerald. The threshold level (bronze) re­sults in an energy savings approximately 15 percent above code requirements for the 2008 version of the standard. To achieve higher performance levels, the home must meet minimum performance points in each of six categories:

• Lot design, preparation, and development

• Resource efficiency

• Energy efficiency

• Water efficiency

• Indoor environmental quality

• Operation, maintenance, and building owner education


An updated version of the NGBS, to be released in 2013, will include a number of changes including more stringent energy efficiency requirements, as well as the ability to certify small remodeling projects, such as kitchens, bathrooms, and basements.


Homes being rated for the National Green Building Standards™ are evaluated by trained, independent raters at the NAHB research Center (see Figure 3.3). NAHB provides training and information for both the building industry and homeowners on green building at www. nahbgreen. org.



ICC 700-2008










FIGURE 3.3 The NAHB Re­search Center certifies houses conforming to the ICC 700 Na­tional Green Building Stand­ard™.




Updated: September 26, 2015 — 1:52 pm